One month to go…

Sunday, November 11, 2012

…and this chapter of my life closes.  I don’t know if I’m ready for that.  I know I’m not ready for that.

December 11.  That’s when my tickets are booked to leave for Sydney for a few days before continuing home for my brothers wedding.I have to pack up my house.  I have to say goodbye.  I’ve started this very long process of saying goodbye last months when the students finished their year and will continue for the next month.  An emotional roller coaster.

When I got here 3 years sounded like such a long time.  Three years – how would I ever make it here so long?  Now 3-years (plus some) later it seems too short, too fast, did I do enough?  Should I stay longer?  Why am I leaving?  I can’t exactly answer those questions.  When I made the decision it seemed like the right one.  Now as I get closer to the finality of that decision it’s hard not to question it.  Perhaps because I don’t know what my next step is.

I think the hard thing about looking for that next step is that coming here was such a big decision.  How do you follow up a really big decision?  It must be why marathon runners can’t just stop with one marathon.

Leave a Reply

