Friday

Friday, October 16, 2009

We have been preparing this week for the CAA (Commonwealth Association of Architects) review board.  Every 5 years they come and visit to see if the program is to maintain it’s accreditation and this week is the mid-review.  Now Michael and I have come to town to run some errands and get some ‘real’ internet access.

While we were walking downtown two people at Unitech recognized us and followed us to make sure we were ok.  They were worried about us walking around on a Friday afternoon since that is when everyone comes into town to cash the work checks.  The lines outside the main bank become incredibly long, but if you are a ‘gold member’ or a ‘prime member’ or its equivalent then you can avoid the hours-long lines.  Another one of those weird inequalities between the privileged and the less privileged (I say less than because I am sure they feel fortunate to have a paycheck to cash versus those who don’t even have that).  Now, though, I am feeling very fortunate to be in an air-conditioned space (as does my mac) and enjoying an SP (South Pacific).

Oh, I have a working phone now.  I went almost 2 weeks without and didn’t really miss it at all.

Leave a comment