Pineapple

Monday, October 26, 2009

I wake up to 2 pineapple sitting on my kitchen counter.  Friday morning there was a pineapple and a football-sized paupau (papaya).  Nancy has been bringing them from her garden and leaving them for me in the morning.  For some reason Nancy doesn’t like fruit, maybe it’s too common here, she prefers these pre-packaged chicken or beef flavored biscuits, Maggi noodles (like ramen-noodles) and canned corn beef.  So I buy her these super cheap foods that she considers delicious and she brings me these amazing fruits. 

I felt bad that she kept giving these to me and told her she should keep them.  She told me how she worked for one family who tried to give her rice and mango and she was so offended she threw it back at them, told them they could eat their mango and rice and quit. (‘Me no like em’).  So I will keep buying, despite my embarrassment, the pre-packaged junk she prefers.

Leave a comment